Friday, May 3, 2013

The Difference Between A Bb Message & Email?

What are the different functions of Messages and Email tools in Blackboard Learn (Bb)? This question often comes up among all of our SU users.


BB Mail vs Messages Send EmailBb users can send email from within Bb to all or selected individual Users, Students, Groups, Teaching Assistants, Instructors or Observers. The email will be sent to the receipents email account. This account is the official email to be used for SU business.

Instructors can utilize this to email students before the course begins or anytime during the course. Once the communications leaves Blackboard, any replies will be sent back to your SU email, not back into Blackboard.

Once the communications leaves Blackboard, it will be your responsibility to organize and archive these email in your own account for any future reference.

Edit the ability to which students can email certain groups or individuals. Students may not see all these options, as faculty can make some unavailable. Turning these options off for students does not affect the instructor’s ability to send email to these groups. Instructors can copy the email to non-su emails from with the Grade Center. 
Students can prevent their email from being included by editing their privacy settings. This privacy block does not prevent faculty from sending email to the student. 
BB Mail vs Messages Email Settings


Messages are private and secure text-based communication that occurs within a course and among course members. Although similar to email, users must be logged into the Course to read and send Messages. Be aware at this time, there is no outside notification for any new messages within your course. You MUST check the My Messages box on the Academics Tab within Bb.
Messages are a great way to utilize a private and secure communication tool within Blackboard for each specific course. This would help keep track of what course the student is asking questions about and keep a record of it within the course. Messages will be archived along with the course for any grade disputes in the future.  Folders can be created to help organize your messages within a course. It also serves as a backup communication tool should our email with Google be unavailable.
After the May 17th upgrade you will be able to send emails directly from your Bb Social Profile without having to go into each course. Additionally, there will be third communication item called "Post" that will allow users to have private & shared communications with classmates, friends, and colleagues at SU and with other institutions around the world who use Bb Learn.

No comments:

Post a Comment